• 05 Jan 2008 /  Software 4 Comments

    This morning’s Junk E-Mail was an email ‘from’ ebay about “billing address verification.” The email claims my account has been locked temporarily because “eBay safeguard your account when there is a possibility that someone other than you is logging on. You may be getting this message because you are logging on from a different location or device.” The email then requests you follow a link to complete the verification process.

    In my early morning stupor I almost beleived the email – realising just as I was clicking the link (force quit immediately killed safari). I’ve sent the email to ebay for verification (spoof@ebay.co.uk) but looking more closely I notice that the ‘Getting Started’ link redirects to http:// web.fpks.org/VideoTapeDir/index3.php and the email starts Dear Valued Customer. Also, genuine emails from ebay should appear in the Messages section of your ebay account itself – needless to say this one didn’t.

    My alarm bells are ringing so I hope this post acts as a warning to anyone else who may have received a similar email. Here’s a screenie of the email I received (yours may look different):

    picture12 photo

    [ Posted by your humble author Rambo @ 10:11 am ]

4 Responses

WP_Blue_Mist
  • Zack Says:

    hey,
    wow i had the same thing as you just an hour later than you posted!

    Do you reckon its a virus or just a video?

    also, did you force quit safari or did the link do that to you?

    thanks :)

    ps i have a blogger thingy but i dont ever use it!

  • Andre Says:

    I got the same e-mail (at 4:06 AM EST). Except for it was all raw text. So instead of getting a link that says “Get Started” leading to the suspicious “web.fpks.org” it was html that plainly displayed the link. I said to myself there is absolutely no way I’m clicking that link… *delete*

  • Andre Says:

    Also, I’m not a regular to this blog, I found it by doing a search of the suspicious web site to see if anything came up. Seeing as my previous posting time registered as 3:27 PM I am assuming that this is a UK site as EST is 5 hours behind GMT.

  • Rambo Says:

    Hi Zack,

    I clicked the link but I realised as the page was loading (the uni has slashed our internet speed) that it might be dodgy so force-quit Safari myself. I didn’t see any video but if you did I’d recommend checking your computer for spyware (definately if your using a PC). I havent had a response from eBay yet but several people have had similar emails supposedly from banks so I’m guessing this is some kind of spyware.

    Andre your powers of deduction are correct, I am based in the UK, however I’m a night owl so my posts can be put up any time.

    Thanks to both of you for having a gander at my blog!

Leave a Comment

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.